What We Know: Mortal Kombat 11

Nobody can escape the brutal wrath of Mortal Kombat. The gruesome fighter gets ready to rip the world in half later this month with its eleventh entry. Before arriving in the arena to fight against friends, let’s prepare with all that is known as of now about MK 11.


Following the story of the last two releases, consequences of the amount of time manipulation will have characters face against different versions of themselves, peers, and foes. Much of the narrative will focus on Raiden and his darker form.

New Gameplay Elements

Death blows are a new move that unlocks when a player’s health reaches low enough. Once the bar hits the threshold, then a special, brutal attack that can help recover from the losing battle.

Perfect blocks deal extra damage if you can time your blocks correctly. This adds to a new level of strategy that may alter the playstyle of veterans of the world’s most violent puncher.

Offensive and defensive meters have been moved to allow for new strategies and resource management for certain attacks.

Customization will grow significantly compared to previous NeatherRealm games. Similar to Injustice 2, adding new armor and other equipment can boost your character’s abilities and attributes to give you the edge in kombat.


The new Mortal Kombat will feature 25 total characters, two of which are DLC. A mix of classic and new fighters will appear. The list appears below:

  • Scorpion
  • Raiden
  • Sub-Zero
  • Sonya Blade
  • Baraka
  • Skarlet
  • Geras (new)
  • Kano
  • Kabal
  • D’Vorah
  • Jade
  • Johnny Cage
  • Cassie Cage
  • Jacqui Briggs
  • Erron Black
  • Kotal Kahn
  • Jax
  • Liu Kang
  • Kung Lao
  • Noob Saibot
  • Cetrion (new)
  • The Kollector (new)
  • Kitana
  • Shao Kahn (DLC)
  • Shang Tsung (DLC)

Pre-order Bonuses

Standard: Base game and any pre-order bonuses for a standard copy.

Premium: Base game and the Kombat Pack that includes six DLC characters, a week early access to the DLC, seven exclusive fighter skins, and seven pieces of exclusive character gear. If you pre-order a physical copy of the premium edition then a Mortal Kombat Steelbook comes with the game along with all of the DLC listed.

Kollector: Everything listed above, plus a steel book case, collector’s box, Scorpion’s mask (not wearable).


Release and Platforms

Mortal Kombat comes out on Nintendo Switch, PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. The game arrives on April 23.

Pre-order and support the blog:

Pre-order and support the blog: Mortal Kombat 11 – PlayStation 4

Pre-order and support the blog: Mortal Kombat 11: Premium Edition – PlayStation 4

Pre-order and support the blog: Mortal Kombat 11 – Xbox One

Pre-order and support the blog: Mortal Kombat 11: Premium Edition – Xbox One

Image via NetherRealm


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: