What We Know: Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

EA has the Star Wars license for 10 years, possibly longer if Disney likes what the publisher puts out, and so far, the Mickey Mouse is happy. The arrival of Respawn Entertainment’s take on the franchise is coming with a fresh single-player take, unlike the multiplayer-focused Battlefront. Before you spend any money on Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, this is what you need to know.

Story and Timeline

Setting between Revenge of the Sith and New Hope, during the time Order 66 has been executed. You will play as a Padawan named Cal Kestis (played by Cameron Monaghan), who is being hunted down by a squad from the Empire called the Second Sister. Cal and friends must survive as they travel the galaxy.


You will get to travel to a variety of different planets. The worlds themselves will be fairly linear, but enough paths to allow for some limited exploration.

This action-adventure title will have a focus on combat, upgrades, and maneuverability. Swinging off of vines line Indiana Jones, climbing walls similar to Respawn’s FPS Titanfall, and swimming will be a few of the many ways you can traverse the terrain.

Combat will include using the force and your lightsaber. The lightsaber will develop with you. Enemies all have their own strengths and weaknesses, so you will need to analyze each situation as they arise. Fighting is meant to be both accessible and in-depth for players of all skill levels, but we will have to see what that means when the game releases.

Puzzles will be another component. While the developers have not entirely shown what these will look like, but you will need to do some thinking along with platforming. Luckily, along with gathering intel and completing other objectives, your droid BD-1 will aid you in every challenge you face.

Upgrades through the world and leveling up your three skill trees will give you more strength through the story. The abilities are divided between lightsaber, force, and survival.

Traveling around the galaxy requires a ship. Your ship will be your hub along with the landing zones on each planet. Here you can upgrade abilities, craft, and interact with people with you.

Saving will be at those locations along with specific points in a level. Saving at these areas outside of the landing area will respawn enemies.

Your droid will be able to help you scan things to learn about the world, along with hacking and healing. The healing items are limited but can be replenished at a save point.

Cosmetics to style things up will be available. You can give your cute little droid a makeover, and the same goes for the ship too.


Usually, putting a game on a harder difficulty means the enemies will be more accurate, have higher health, and do more damage. Well, it would be dorky to have a lightsaber that can’t one-hit kill someone. So, Respawn is adjusting the game in other ways to keep the same feel in the combat while offering a challenge for players wanting to test their skills.

The focus will be on enemy aggression, parry timing, and incoming damage across the three meters of difficulty.

Pre-Order Editions

Standard: Orange lightsaber blade color, Mygeeto campaign hilt (lightsaber customization), Umbaran campaign hilt (lightsaber customization) and Bee-D-1 skin, and Gold Squadron Stinger Mantis skin. This will cost the regular price for any game, $59.99.

Deluxe: Everything above along with a Crimson BD-1 skin, Crimson Stinger Mantis skin, digital art book, and a “Director’s Cut” video that takes you behind the scenes. This will cost $69.99.

PC Specs


  • CPU: Intel Core i3-3220 / AMD FX-6100
  • CPU SPEED: Info
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • OS: 64-bit Windows 7/8.1/10
  • VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 / AMD Radeon HD 7750


  • CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K / AMD Ryzen 7 1700
  • CPU SPEED: Info
  • RAM: 16 GB
  • OS: 64-bit Windows 7/8.1/10
  • VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 / AMD Radeon RX Vega 56


There are no plans for DLC.


Respawn confirmed there will be no microtransactions of any kind. This came when the game got its first big announcement to the world, giving details of a strictly single-player focused Star Wars experience with no microtransactions. Yes, this is published by EA if you forgot.


Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order comes out on Nov. 15 for Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC.

Support the blog


Image via EA


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: